Sketches from Graduation Day

PHD1About 18 months ago I started a ridiculously challenging condensed Masters Degree.  A two year program delivered in 18 months with all of the insanity that entails and essentially no breaks or time to come up for air.  One week ago today, I attended my graduation ceremony!  Yay!  I have finally completed the degree and the insanity is over.   The following sketches are my impressions from the graduation ceremony.  Now you can pretend that you were there with me watching me receive my hard-earned masters degree.

The first sketch is of the man who was reading out all of the names of people walking across the stage to receive their degree.  It’s a thankless job really but somebody has to do it.  Some of my friends and relatives were playing the “guess which name he’ll screw up next” game.  I was amazed that he managed to mispronounce mine.  I would have thought that it was one of the simpler ones.  I suppose you should never take anything for granted though.  Behind him in the sketch are my school crest and the sceptre that they carried onto the stage … presumably to make the ceremony suitably historic, sombre and ceremonial.

Presenter

Next up are a couple of the PhDs.  They had to sit up on the stage where everyone could see them.  To make up for it though they got some really cool hats, way cooler than mine.  I mean, when I saw their hats I thought I might like to go for a PhD.  Then my friend told me that if you do your PhD in Sweden you get a sword!  I’m not sure if that’s true or not but that would be even better.  Anyway, on to the drawings …

The next two are of the same person in two different styles.  One of them is more of a doodle like the rest of these whereas with the second one I was trying to do more of a proper sketch.  It’s incomplete though because I didn’t have much time to work on it.

SpeakerGuest2

This was the guest speaker at our graduation ceremony, so he’s somewhat famous.  He’s an actor and his name is Jack Thompson.  Apparently he played Cliegg Lars (Uncle Owen’s father and Anakin’s step-father) in Star Wars: Attack of the Clones.  I’m sure he’s had lots of more memorable and prestigious roles than that in far better films and shows but that was the one my friend told me about.  He was an interesting guy who gave quite a good speech.

So there you have it, my graduation in a nut shell.

Now that that’s over, what next?  The intensive 18 month insanity is behind me so will I go back to posting a sketch a day again?  Well, probably not.  I have a job search to worry about now along with a few other major things.  As far as working on my drawings goes though … I do have a bit of a project that I’m working on right now.  It’s a bit ambitious and very daunting but we’ll see how it goes.  Any time I spend drawing in the next while will probably be going towards that though.  If I ever actually finish it, I’ll definitely post it here.  That’s a big “if” though because post-graduation my life is in a bit of a state of flux.

In the meantime, if there’s anyone out there still reading this and there’s anything else you’d like to see me draw, feel free to drop me a line.  I’m always happy to take suggestions, even if I am busy and working on a project.  I may have gotten insanely inconsistent at posting but I still love to draw!

2 thoughts on “Sketches from Graduation Day

Leave a Reply

