Still Alive / Just Keep Swimming …

So apparently it has been about five months since my last post.  Sorry for disappearing off the face of the earth there.  I started an accelerated masters program at University a few months ago and it is far more intensive than I expected.  Pretty much everything has fallen to the wayside.  No time for friends, family, healthy eating, sleep, or (sadly) much drawing.  Basically all of my time over the last few months has been spent either going to class or working on assignments.

The good news is: I’m off for the next month!  Yay!  Pretty much the first thing I did was start drawing again.  Literally.  I finished my last assignment on Tuesday.  Then Wednesday morning I woke up and started on this sketch for a friend of mine:

Finding Dory

Sadly I have had other demands on my time.  I’ve been spending time with friends and family, volunteering and catching up on various other things.  So I’ve only spent a few minutes here and there working on this drawing since Wednesday.  I’m still not convinced that it’s finished but I’m getting antsy to start on something else so I’m putting this one away for now.

Today was my art day though.  I woke up and worked on this picture some more to get it to a state I was happy with.  Then I went into the city of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School.  That’s another thing I haven’t done for months.  It was great to get some life drawing practice in.  I like drawing cartoons for my friends but I always feel like I’m just copying someone else’s genius.  So here are some terrible short sketches from Dr. Sketchy’s (sorry for the poor quality pics):

I actually also had a few sketches from before I started Uni that I never got around to posting.  The main one was Iron Man, which was the last request I fulfilled for someone before Dory.  I kept meaning to post that one but I started University right after it was completed.

Iron Man

And here are the rest of the pre-Uni sketches:

Also there were a few from during the semester.  It wasn’t entirely an art-free couple of months.  Occasionally I just couldn’t resist the urge to do a quick sketch.  I apologise again for the poor quality uploads.

So that’s me all caught up now!  Hopefully it won’t be another 5 months before my next post.  Maybe time for another hand or mannequin sketch coming up soon …

17 thoughts on “Still Alive / Just Keep Swimming …

    1. Thank you 🙂

      Yeah, I didn’t really realise how many sketches I’d done that I never got around to posting until I tried to compile them all.

      Dory’s my favourite too though. Of course her and Iron Man are the only ones I really spent any time on.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 as stressful and challenging as it is, I’m still glad I decided to go back yo uni.

      Yes, this is watercolour. The texture is mostly just because it’s really poor quality paper. I need to get me some better quality watercolour paper. It’s good to be back (at least for a little while) though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

