An Appearance from Betty Boop

Betty BoopHere’s Betty Boop as promised.  The mother of one of my co-workers actually requested this one.  Her daughter has four of my random Disney sketches on her wall now so she wanted one for her own wall.  Apparently she’s a big fan of Betty Boop.

I actually had a lot of fun with this one.  Betty Boop is very interesting to draw.  She is definitely completely different from everything I’ve drawn before.  There were some good lessons to be learned here. 

My mum always scoffs and scowls at the idea of drawing cartoons being remotely educational since the proportions are all off.  It’s definitely not the same as drawing real people but there are still some really valuable lessons to be learned from cartoons.  For one thing you get a much better idea of what the really important relationships are between different parts of the body.  You learn which proportions can be exaggerated and which ones can’t if you want something to still be recognizable.

Betty Boop was great for those sorts of lessons.  Her proportions are so strange that they almost don’t seem like they should work.  Yet somehow she still easily reads as a human being.  Trying to figure out what makes her work was the really interesting part for me.  She was a really great contrast to some of the other drawings I’ve done.

Of course I am aware that today is Thursday.  It’s supposed to be my figure drawing day and I’m not quite sure Betty Boop counts for that.  I’ll see about squeezing an evening with Mr. Mannequin into my schedule.  Tune is next time to find out whether or not I was successful in that endeavour.  There may also be a Darth Vader sketch coming up as that was the latest request I received.

6 thoughts on “An Appearance from Betty Boop

  1. Oh, it counts as a figure drawing! (LOL at what Kerfe wrote!) I agree with you about the lessons to be learned from drawing cartoons. I took a course once at a local art center. The instructor of that class has a Master of Fine Arts and he had us draw caricatures in the class (very similar to cartoons) because, he said, in order to draw a good caricature, you need to really study and understand the features of the person (or maybe even other animals) you are drawing in order to exaggerate them for the caricature.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I definitely agree with that. One of the first things I learned when I was starting out on this journey was that you really can’t draw a decent cartoon face without understanding how human facial structure works (or animal facial structure. In order to simplify something you really have to understand it. So lessons from life drawing really do carry over to cartooning and vice versa. Copying a cartoon seems like it should be easy but unless you’re tracing or gridding it out you really still need to understand what you’re looking at.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

