Another Sunday Hand Sketch to Start the Year

A 2016 Hand SketchAlright, I’ve had a couple of days off and now I’m back in time for the Sunday hand sketch.  The last couple of days were pretty busy for me so I didn’t get as much rest as I might have liked before getting back to the regular working routine tomorrow.  I took a bit more of a lazy day today though and my first priority, actually pretty much my only priority, for the day was to make time for some sketching. Regardless of what form this blog takes going forward I absolutely want to continue with my Sunday Hand Sketches and Figure Drawing Thursdays.  My New Year’s Resolution may be completed but I still have lots of practicing to do.

It felt really strange not drawing anything for the last couple of days after 365 days straight of daily sketches.  There were a couple of times I just stared longingly at my sketchbook.  Honestly if pretty much every minute of my day for the last two days hadn’t already been spoken for I may have just kept right on going into 2016.  As it is I still haven’t really figured out what I’m going to do going forward.  I still haven’t figured out my New Year’s Resolutions for 2016 yet either.  I do know that 2016 is going to be a very busy year for me and I don’t want to overextend myself.  That being said, I still have lots of things I need to work on and it felt really great to get back to sketching today after the two day break.

I’ll do my best to keep up with drawing at least something every day, even if it’s just a pointless doodle.  That’s what my original concept for this was anyway.  I won’t promise daily sketches of any kind of reasonable quality but I don’t see why I can’t keep drawing something every day so long as I don’t set high expectations for myself on what that means.  Posting every day however is another matter.  I’m not sure I want to commit to keeping up with that since that’s the part that’s liable to keep me up stupidly late on busy days.  Instead, I will commit to posting at least twice a week.  Most likely those posts will be on Fridays and Sundays but that may change.  That way I can post my figure drawing sketches on Fridays and my hand sketches on Sundays along with any other sketches I’ve done in between.  If I find I have time on other days I may post a bit more often but I want to focus on those two days for now so I can also focus on getting enough sleep and keeping on top of my workload.

In other news, I forgot to mention in my last post that my newly ordered brush pen actually came in on New Year’s Eve.  I lost my old one as was pretty upset about it.  It seems my pocket had developed a hole and I can only assume it fell out while I was walking home one day.  I will have to take better care of this new one.  I was having lots of fun playing with it for today’s doodle though.  The multiliner I was using before that was really great to draw with too but they are completely different from eachother.  I do prefer the multiliner for some things and sometimes I think I actually draw better with it but I love the versatility of the brush pen.  It’s just so much more fun to mess around with even if the results sometimes look a bit strange.

A Face and a Tree

3 thoughts on “Another Sunday Hand Sketch to Start the Year

  1. Nice sketches, really like the hand! Happy New Year! I know what you mean about blogging daily; even though I’m back to it for only a few days, it’s already feeling like a “have to”. I need to reevaluate. Hope you have a great 2016!

    Like

Leave a Reply

