Day 345: Some More Random Faces and Fan Art

Baby Bae and the Rumple FaceI decided to do one last #OnceFanArtFriday just for the sake of it really.  I probably won’t be doing any more of these.  The show is on hiatus now.  It will be back in March but honestly I’m not sure how invested I’ll be anymore at that point.  I was extremely disappointed with the mid-season finale and am not overly excited about the direction it looks like the show will be heading in for the rest of the season and beyond. 

It’s a bit sad really.  I absolutely loved the first couple of seasons and I would still count it as one of my favourite shows just based on the strength of those.  There was a pretty good wrap up point in one of the earlier seasons though and I’m starting to think that they should have just ended it there.  It would have been a sad ending for my favourite character but it honestly looks like he’ll end up doing a lot worse.

Anyway, that’s enough of the Once Upon a Time ranting I think.  I may still draw random sketches for it occasionally.  Rumpelstiltskin is still my favourite character in pretty much anything and there are other characters I love who I may get the random urge to draw at some point.  It will just go back to being a sporadic occurrence instead of a weekly thing.

Meanwhile my regular sketching seems to be very much running on the theme of cartoon faces and flowers.  I’m still trying to work on my faces in general.  I draw real faces and portraits and those teach me a lot.  Drawing cartoon faces teaches me a bit more about general shapes as well though.  I’m trying to get a better idea of the very basics of facial structure for forming a random face that looks natural.  At some point I’ll have to do further studies on turning faces too.  Maybe it’s time to look at some more robot heads.

Cartoon Faces and Flowers

2 thoughts on “Day 345: Some More Random Faces and Fan Art

    1. Thank you 🙂 I think I’m almost halfway through my charcoal sketchbook now so it’s good to know that I’m making some progress with it.

      I know my Styrofoam ball is around here somewhere. Once I find it the robot heads will definitely be making a comeback. I just need to decide whether to do them in charcoal or in ink.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

