Day 328: A Survivor and a Sheep

Matt Golinski SketchIt occurs to me that the title for today’s post may come off slightly insulting.  Let it be noted that the survivor and sheep in question are two separate entities.  I make no judgements about the character of the survivor nor about the survivability of the sheep.

The survivor in question is the poor soul left behind by the members of yesterday’s family portrait.  As it was pointed out to me that it might be in poor taste to gift the man a portrait of his lost family I decided to do another portrait of him instead.  This was the one I gave him when he stopped by to speak to us at my work today.  Sadly I didn’t have too much time to work on it (I drew it on my lunch break) and I picked a poor photo to work from.  He had such a strange smile in the photo and I realized as I was drawing it that it wouldn’t translate very well.  Mouths are so difficult at the best of times.

Since that sketch was done on paper to be given away I still had to do another charcoal sketch to go in my sketchbook for the day.  That’s one of my self-imposed rules or neuroses.  I’ve had it in the back of my mind for a while now to attempt at least one animal sketch per week.  So today I made my way back to the old faithful Something To Draw website and found myself a sheep to draw.  The photo was submitted by Björn Burton.  I’m not sure how sheep-like my drawing actually looks.  At one stage at least it definitely looked more like a cow than a sheep.  I think I recovered it a little bit from that though.

Bah Humbug

Sadly there will be no ink sketch today.  I’m afraid I left my ink sketchbook behind at work today.  I just haven’t been having much luck with that poor sketchbook lately.  First I did an accidental charcoal sketch in it and now I’m having to miss a day of drawing in it.  I’ve completely compromised its integrity at this point.  My poor neglected sketchbook.  Perhaps I can give it some love tomorrow when I go to retrieve it.

I did, however, pick up some ridiculously cheap white canvas shoes and go to town on them …

Shoes 1Shoes 2Shoes 3

5 thoughts on “Day 328: A Survivor and a Sheep

  1. Your commentary made me laugh! Really good portrait of this poor soul. I feel like praying for him right now. One of our daughters does that with her shoes as well. Nicely done! And that is a tremendously knowing sheep. Clearly that sheep knows a secret it’s not telling anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kirk! I’m glad I was able to give you a laugh.

      I’ve been wanting to do this sort of thing with my shoes for a while now but was afraid to wreck a good pair of shoes. Luckily I was able to get these ones super cheap so it didn’t matter too much.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

