Day 304: Dragonfire on All Hallows’ Eve

MaleficentToday’s #drawlloween prompt is another one of my favourites, “dragon”.  I love dragons.  I’m not sure it’s really the most Halloweeny prompt in the world to end on for the final day of #drawlloween, Halloween itself.  Nonetheless, it is an awesome one so I tried to have fun with it.

Admittedly I’ve tried, and failed, to draw dragons many times over the years.  My skills still aren’t quite up to that particular challenge.  I’ve mentioned before how the more attached I am to a subject, the harder it is for me to draw, right?  I get too invested in the results and it skews my perception and throws off my efforts.  Well when it comes to dragons I’m extremely invested.  I’m not sure there’s anything I find more beautiful than a dragon.

So naturally I decided to cheat.  I did make a couple half-assed attempts at silly dragon doodles.  I still need to practice drawing from the imagination after all.  Also I would never forgive myself I didn’t at least try to draw a dragon.  For my main sketch though I decided to stretch the parameters a bit.  I’ve done so much random fan art for these various #drawlloween prompts after all.  I may as well end on one.  Anyway, it’s been a little while since my last Once Upon a Time fan art.  I wouldn’t want to give anyone the impression that I’m becoming less of a crazy obsessed fan girl.  That would just be wildly inaccurate.  So I drew Maleficent, as she appears in Once Upon a Time.  Maleficent is after all a dragon.  She just happens to be in human form in this particular sketch.  I decided to count it anyway.  It’s her Halloween costume! 😉

Dragon Silhouette Puffy Dragon Grr Arrgh

4 thoughts on “Day 304: Dragonfire on All Hallows’ Eve

Leave a Reply

