Day 290: Of Demons and Gentlemen

The GentlemanLooky here!  I finally did an actually creepy #drawlloween sketch.  Imagine that!  Perhaps I’m finally starting to get into the spirit of things.  Although, that being said, this one does actually still qualify as fan art.  Creepy fan art maybe, but fan art nonetheless.

Today’s #drawlloween prompt was “demons”.  I came up with several different possible subjects for that prompt.  All of them were fan art.  I seem to have trouble not jumping immediately to fan art with these prompts.  I suppose the problem is that I still rely really heavily on reference photos for my sketches.  Sometimes it feels like over the last 290 days all I’ve managed to accomplish is getting better at copying things.  I do try to avoid copying other people’s art though for the most part.  Somehow it feels like when I’m drawing from a photo (as opposed to someone else’s painting or sketch) then I’m at least doing a bit of artistic conversion myself.

Of course when I just type the word “demon” into google image search pretty much all that comes up are pictures of other artist’s interpretations.  I didn’t want to just copy one of those.  I could have maybe tried to come up with my own interpretation but that would have required quite a bit more time and energy.  I’m still pretty tired today and was hoping to get an early night (a hope that is fading by the minute).  So the next easiest course of action was to think up some specific demons that I would be able to find photos of.  Those all came from fandoms.  I thought of about five different demons from four different fandoms.  I chose the creepiest.

For some reason I did end up going extremely ink heavy on today’s sketch.  There is some charcoal in there but it really doesn’t serve much of a purpose.  The shot was just so dark and I was having fun drawing it with the brush pen.  I may have gotten a bit carried away with the inking.  In the end the charcoal was more to satisfy my own compulsions than anything else.  *Ahem* It still counts as a charcoal sketchbook if there’s a tiny bit of charcoal shading going on there …

I’m not sure I would have wanted to draw this one in charcoal though.  I mean I suppose it would have been interesting to try.  I still have a lot of difficulty controlling the charcoal though and this was a really challenging sketch.  The hands in particular were nearly impossible and the face was pretty touch and go too.  A lot of the detail probably would have been lost with charcoal, at least the way I do it.  In the end I’m glad I did it the way I did.

15 thoughts on “Day 290: Of Demons and Gentlemen

    1. Thank you 🙂 Yeah, it’s basically one of my favourite episodes from any show ever. Hush is amazing. I was surprised it took me so long to think of The Gentlemen for the “demon” prompt but once I did they were pretty much the obvious choice.

      The hands were both super challenging so I’m glad they turned out okay. The left once especially. I was almost too intimidated to start on it and it definitely went through phases where it looked absolutely terrible.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excellent creepiness! You can actually get really good details with charcoal, but this worked well with ink. All demon images are, by necessity, someone’s artwork because there is no such thing as a real demon. 🙂 Your interpretation is just as good and valid as anyone else’s!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course. I just wanted to do a bit more translation myself so I chose to copy a make-up artist’s artwork rather than a painters 🙂

      I’m glad you liked it. I know that it’s possible to get good detail with charcoal because I saw your portrait earlier 😉 . I just have nowhere near the amount of control required with the charcoal stick right now. I am getting much better at controlling my brush pen though which makes me happy. Hopefully I’ll get there with the charcoal too someday.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

