Day 289: An Abandoned Grave and An Attempted Portrait

The Abandoned GraveI’m just going to stop claiming that I’m working on improving my sleeping habits now.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m still going to keep trying to actually improve my sleeping habits.  I’m just not going to pretend that it’s a thing that’s actually happening.  It’s more of a case of “I’ll believe it when I see it”.

What I’m trying to get at here is that I’m really really tired.  I know I say that all the time but it’s true.  I really am.  That’s my excuse for this poor abandoned gravestone.  I wanted to give it the love and attention it deserved.  Really, I did.  It just wasn’t going to happen.  I didn’t have the energy.  This was all I had in me.  Clearly a bad day for charcoal then.

I didn’t do the ink and charcoal thing today.  Maybe I’ll get back to that tomorrow, or if not then probably by Monday.  I was doing a bunch of ink sketching earlier in the day again today though so I figure I’ve got the #inktober thing covered.

Toon KarenThis portrait was very loosely based on myself.  I wouldn’t exactly call it a proper self-portrait and certainly not a life drawing.  It is supposed to be me though.  Maybe if you squint at it and tilt it just right there could be a passing resemblance.  Even then though it would only be because of how vague it is.  Still, I do like it.  I’ll just pretend that it looks like me.

12 thoughts on “Day 289: An Abandoned Grave and An Attempted Portrait

  1. The charcoal is perfect for giving the gravestone that creepy, foreboding touch! I think if you had more time to work on it, it would just look too perfect, which, IMO, would ruin this wonderful effect. I love your self portrait/not-self-portrait! It’s like what I’ve been doing for Jeopardy contestants!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

