Day 278: Last Night’s Dr. Sketchy’s and a #Drawlloween Werewolf

Little Red Riding HoodToday’s #Drawlloween prompt was a werewolf.  I have a werewolf statue that I drew once before, months and months ago.  I think it was within the first week of my starting this Sketch a Day challenge.  I suppose I could look it up but I’m too lazy to go find it.  It was back in the days when my post titles were all just dates with no hints as to what I was drawing.  Anyway, I briefly considered taking another shot at drawing that statue.  I didn’t really feel like it though.  I’m not sure if it was just because I’ve drawn it once before and I figured it would be shameful if 9 months and 275 or so sketches later I wasn’t able to do a better job of it or if I’m just life drawinged out a bit after last night.  Either way, I didn’t want to draw the statue and I didn’t have any other werewolves around willing to pose for me.  I also didn’t like the idea of drawing a werewolf based on someone else’s drawing, painting, or CG construction.

The solution?  I went back to drawing TV show characters.  Werewolves happen to be a personal favourite of mine so I have quite a few werewolf characters I’m quite fond of.  My favourites are book characters though and the whole point of picking a specific character was so that I would have a reference photo to go by.  In the end my Once Upon a Time obsession won out.  I just love drawing characters from that show.  They’re all so interesting.  So today’s sketch is of Ruby from Once Upon a Time.  She may not look it but she is in fact a werewolf.  Is drawing a werewolf in their human form cheating?  I tried to make her look at least a little bit wolfish.

I’ll also post my various quick sketches from my trip to Dr. Sketchy’s Anti Art School last night.  Most of them are pretty terrible and I don’t have much to say about them but here they are anyway:

Mr. Squiggle and His Poorly Drawn Friends
2 Minute Bombshell 2 Minute Lady Gesture 3 Minute Dame 5 Minute Tutu 10 Minute Feather Capped Lady 10 Minute Partially Shaded Woman 10 Minute Woman Sitting 20 Minute Bobmshell on a Break

All of them are life drawings, mostly quite short poses.  I made short notes on them about the lengths of the poses and any extra conditions we were given for the sketches.  It was quite a fun evening as usual.  It’s always interesting to work with live models for a change.

4 thoughts on “Day 278: Last Night’s Dr. Sketchy’s and a #Drawlloween Werewolf

    1. Lol, well Ruby’s not that scary really, as long as you don’t get on her bad side. I got her cheekbones off which really threw off this sketch for recognisability. I’m glad she still looks wolfish though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

