Day 267: A Staggeringly Disproportionate Mannequin Sketch

A Staggeringly Disproportionate Mannequin SketchI really have been trying really hard to fix my sleeping schedule.  All in all it’s actually working relatively well.  I’m still working off a bit of a sleep debt and I woke up about fifty times last night but other than that it’s going great!  At least I’ve been getting to bed earlier.  The downside to all of this is that I also get tired much earlier in the day.  So today was one of those days when I didn’t get around to doing my sketch until it was around the time my body was telling me I should already be lying in bed trying to sleep.  While that was actually much earlier in the day this time than all of the previous times I’ve made that excuse, the effects were surprisingly no less potent.

Pretty much what all of this boils down to is that I don’t draw very well when I’m really tired.  You would think I’d have learned that lesson by now.  Today’s sketch is proof positive that the effect has no relation to the actual time of day.  It’s entirely dependent on how tired I am.  So somehow even with all my progress in the better sleeping habits direction I still find myself back at square one.  I still just need to learn to do my sketches earlier in the day.

I have no idea what Mr. Mannequin was doing here.  I wasn’t really paying too much attention.  I kind of just let him do his own thing again today.  I know I definitely didn’t get the proportions right at all though.  There was lots of strange perspective stuff going on there.  Mr. Mannequin chose a pose that required a lot of foreshortening and apparently I wasn’t really up to the challenge.  His arm ended up super long and his legs ended up super short.  It’s just a thing that happened.  I blame the tiredness.

8 thoughts on “Day 267: A Staggeringly Disproportionate Mannequin Sketch

Leave a Reply

