Day 266: Another Shot at Beauty

Another Shot at BeautyWell, it’s been almost a week since my last TV show character sketch.  I’ve really been wanting to give this one another try though so I decided to just go for it.  This is another favourite character of mine and she is surprisingly difficult to draw.  I think I have more trouble with women than I do with men.  Young and beautiful women are especially difficult to draw.  I suppose the reason for that is similar to the reason why children are so difficult to draw.  Older people tend to have more prominent facial structures and recognizable features.  Those make it much easier to capture a likeness.

I pretty much took the coward’s way out on this one though.  I went for really minimal shading again.  By that I mean basically just a little tone to give some contrast and no real shading at all.  She may not be too recognizable that way but I’m pretty confident that I would have just screwed it up if I tried to add shading to this one.  I was actually really tempted to just do it anyway but in the end I just didn’t have the energy.  I’m still trying to work off my sleep debt and I’ve been feeling pretty run down for the last few days.  If I push myself I have a feeling I’ll just wake up sick and unable to drag myself out of bed in the morning.  So the coward’s way out it is for today.  A minimally shaded sketch and hopefully an early night, that’s the plan.

12 thoughts on “Day 266: Another Shot at Beauty

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked it. I like the minimalist approach too. I think it works better sometimes. I just need to learn when to use it and when to do full on shading and how to do all thing things in between…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

