Day 262: A Sad Old Dog

A Sad Old DogI hate to disappoint but I just wasn’t feeling the shading today for some reason.  I felt like drawing an animal again because it’s been nothing but people lately so I picked a random animal photo from Something To Draw for today’s sketch.  My photo of choice was submitted by Tommy Simms It’s not that I couldn’t have shaded it.  The shadows and highlight in this particular photo may not have been as prominent as they are in some of the photos I choose but they were definitely still there.  For some reason it just didn’t feel like it would add much to today’s sketch.

So I guess yesterday’s sketch was the last of the dying ink sketches after all.  At least I hope it was.  The goal is to get fresh ink cartridges tomorrow but I don’t know for sure whether or not I’ll be successful in that endeavor.  I’ll have to see how it goes.  Anyway, I’m happy leaving that on yesterday’s sketch.  I suppose I’m maybe not as confident shading on fur as I am on faces.  I think I probably could do it though.  After all it’s not too different from hair which I’ve done alright on a couple of times at least.

The most likely reason for my reluctance with shading today is that it was late and I didn’t feel like wrestling with the dying ink.  I’m not too bothered about it though.  It’s a nice break and I’m relatively happy with it.  I’ve been wanting to get back to a proper line drawing to make sure I don’t lose sight of that completely.  This one was good practice.

7 thoughts on “Day 262: A Sad Old Dog

Leave a Reply

