Day 261: A Slightly Less Dour Three Tone Colonel

A Slightly Less Dour Three Tone ColonelI did give fair warning that I was likely to continue this completely random pattern for as long as possible.  True to my word I have alternated back to a TV show character for today’s sketch.  I’m now definitely running out of ink in both of my markers which is not making this shading thing easy.  If I’m lucky I should be able to resolve that particular issue on Sunday, one way or another.  I guess that means I’ll just have to suffer through tomorrow’s sketch with barely any ink before things get easier again.

This sketch did pass the husband test though.  I suppose that means that he’s at least moderately recognizable, though possibly not to anyone except for the two of us.  My husband had the benefit of insight into my mind and I’m not convinced that he didn’t already have some idea of who I was drawing before I drew the sketch.  Still, I think that this one didn’t turn out too bad.  The eyes are a bit strange and the features are a bit off.  I think it has a bit of personality to it though and in my mind that’s a big part of what separates a good sketch from a bad one.

8 thoughts on “Day 261: A Slightly Less Dour Three Tone Colonel

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It is not Oliver North. I actually had to look him up because I’d never heard of him. These guessing games don’t seem to be going well for me lately but thanks for guessing anyway! 🙂

      This one was supposed to be Jack O’Neill from Stargate SG-1. He’s played by Richard Dean Anderson who also played MacGyver.

      I like to try for some kind of gradation. It’s a bit hit or miss though I think. Sometimes it works out okay and sometimes it utterly fails.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, okay! I never watched either show (though I know all the MacGyver jokes…LOL!) but I do see the resemblance now that you’ve told me who it is. 🙂 It’s not a fail if the person guessing is a bit dim (that’s me!). 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’m quite looking forward to it too. I’ll let you in on a little secret. I’m actually hoping to get a new pen tomorrow if they have it available. If so then I’ll definitely be interested to see if there’s any change from that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

