Day 255: A Three Tone Colonel

A Three Tone ColonelToday’s sketch didn’t turn out quite the way I had hoped.  I decided to switch things up again and try drawing characters from television shows for a while instead of picking random photos.  There are pros and cons to that approach I suppose, as with anything.  Actually in this case it kind of feels like the pros and the cons are really the same when I think about it.

What it comes down to is that when I’m drawing someone I know, be that a friend or relative or a celebrity or character in a show, I get more invested in the results.  I have an image in my head of what the person is supposed to look like and I suppose that makes it harder to break them down into lines and shapes.  Ironically this often seems to result in a drawing that looks even less like the subject than the drawings of random strangers do.

That was the case with this one.  It looks nothing like the subject.  I suppose this is another one that I’ll have to come back to at some point to see if I can do better on it.  I’m not sure I had a clear idea of what I was doing with the shading either.  I really liked the lighting in the reference photo that I used but I had a hard time trying to figure out how to transfer it over properly.  That’s why I’m doing this though.  It was a fun experiment and I’m still learning how to achieve the effects that I’m going for.

9 thoughts on “Day 255: A Three Tone Colonel

Leave a Reply

