Day 247: A Study in Tone

A Study in ToneI believe I did issue a general warning that I was going to do some experimenting with tone.  I may have mentioned that it would likely result in some very bizarre sketches because I just wanted to play around with it a bit?  Well, this here is pretty much what I was talking about.  Today I just picked out a photo I liked from Something To Draw and then played around with the shadows and highlights.  The reference photo I used was submitted by Katia Popovych.

I didn’t really know what I was doing with this one at all.  I really was just messing around and I’m not quite sure how I feel about the end result.  Most of all it just looks weird.  I think I definitely want to play around with shadows and tone a bit more though.  I’ve been paying attention to them a lot in TV shows lately and I find them absolutely fascinating.  I still have a long way to go but I’d really like to learn and understand a bit more about how they work.  This may not be much, but it’s a start.

11 thoughts on “Day 247: A Study in Tone

Leave a Reply

