Day 245: Just A Random Woman in a Scarf

A Random Woman in a ScarfWell, I’m making some progress … finally.  I didn’t exactly get to my sketch early but I did get to it earlier … than usual.  That’s at least a small step in the right direction.  I doubt I’ll be keeping it up tomorrow since I have plans but we’ll see.  One sketch per month actually done at a reasonable time of day is still progress.

Anyway, I just picked another random photo from Something To Draw for today.  This time it didn’t take me long at all to find a picture I liked.  The photo of a random woman that I used, submitted by AehoHikaruki, was absolutely stunning.  It definitely stood out to me right away and I didn’t really do it justice at all.  It was certainly still worthwhile effort though.

I’m not really sure what I was doing with the shading on this sketch.  I think I need some more practice with shading.  It’s easy enough to do when I have a reference photo that’s really heavy on the shadows.  Those are always really fun to work with.  I think I want to spend some time experimenting with different shading techniques with less obvious reference photos though.  I guess that’s sort of what I’ve been doing for the last week or two already.  I’ve been enjoying the attempts though and I may try to get a little more experimental with it before going back to my focus of the simple line drawings.

8 thoughts on “Day 245: Just A Random Woman in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

