Day 243: Another Sketch Rescued by Liberal Shading

A Woman in ContemplationIt is once again very late and I am completely exhausted.  I hate computers.  They are nothing but a nuisance.  I actually did two sketches today but one of them went completely wrong and I all but scrapped it.  This is the second one.  I wanted to get at least one worthwhile sketch in despite my late start.  This was once again based on a random photo from Something To Draw.  It was submitted by mdiepraam.  Once again I had to rescue a less than satisfactory line drawing with some pretty liberal shading to get a result that I was happy with.  In the end I am relatively happy with it though.  It doesn’t look too much like the actual subject but I like it nonetheless.

The first sketch I did on the other hand looks absolutely nothing like the subject and I’m fairly certain that no amount of shading could rescue it.

Brief Baby SketchRemind me to always make sure I move the mouse off the refresh button before I start my sketch.  It didn’t take me too long to select a photo I wanted to draw today.  I chose a really interesting one of a baby that I thought would be quite interesting.  Unfortunately about twenty seconds into my sketch (when all I had down was the outline of one side of the baby’s head) I accidentally refreshed the page and lost my reference photo. I mentioned that I hate computers, right?

These are the dangers of an over-reliance on Something To Draw.  It’s a very useful site but it does result in the occasional… accident.  Since I couldn’t erase what I had down and didn’t want to entirely waste the sketchbook page I just tried to make up the rest of the drawing.  Needless to say, it didn’t really work out too well.  Oh well, at least I didn’t blow too much time on it and in the end I was still able to get one good sketch in.  All’s well that ends well.

10 thoughts on “Day 243: Another Sketch Rescued by Liberal Shading

  1. Kudos to you for doing art even when you’re exhausted! And it worked out great. I let myself not do art when I’m feeling really tired and it’s not to my long-term benefit. 🙂

    I’ve not been to Something to Draw before. Will need to check it out one day. What I find is helpful when I find an image I think would be great to draw while on the computer is to do a screen capture and that way, I have the image forever (unless my hard drive crashes!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

