Day 242: A Shady Hand

A Shady HandToday was another long day.  I really wish my computers would stop breaking down on me.  It’s somewhat frustrating just how dependent I am on them really.  Luckily today was hand day so the sketch was fairly simple to do.  At least I didn’t have to spend a lot of time finding something good to draw.  Although it did still take me a while to choose a hand pose.  My hand has been very uncreative lately.

In the interest of full disclosure, the line drawing for this sketch was absolutely terrible.  I’m not being overly critical here, it was just bad.  The shading managed to cover for some of that and make it look at least somewhat decent.  Shading is good for that.  That’s why I try to shy away from it for the most part.  Lately I’ve been leaning on it pretty heavily though.  It’s just nice to have something decent looking at the end of the day and I really do like shadows and contrast.  Still, I figure as long as I at least finish the line drawing before I try any shading then I can still somewhat track whether my line drawing skills are improving or not.

9 thoughts on “Day 242: A Shady Hand

  1. I think this hand looks great! Love the contrast and shadows in your recent work. I think the main thing is to create something you like, the way there is just secondary. What counts is the result – only you know how many mistakes you made in between. I think there´s no such artist who creates and every single step is just perfect. Maybe sometimes, but not always. Your result is great! 😊

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you for the kind words of encouragement 🙂 I think sometimes I do get a little too caught up in the process, wanting every step to be perfect. It’s all part of learning but creating something I like is the most motivating way to learn.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! Very cool interpretation. I have a feeling when you look back on your recent work after some time passes, you may really like many of them quite a lot. This is the coolest hand drawing I’ve seen in quite some time. It’s interpretative and unique. I really like it quite a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m glad you liked it. I really do enjoy doing the ones with shading.

      I think you’re right that once I get some more distance from them I’ll probably like them better. It’s always hard to see the progress you’re making when you’re in the middle of it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

