Day 232: Keep Your Head Up, Mr. Mannequin

Chin Up Mr MannequinOkay, there’s a slight possibility that I’m projecting a little bit here.  Surely Mr. Mannequin isn’t having that bad of a day?  Then again perhaps he is.  He does seem to be a bit slouchy and he doesn’t tend to confide these things in me.

I really am making a bit of an effort here.  The universe certainly does not seem to be on my side right now but again I know that that’s mostly a matter of perspective.  I may have had a bit of a wrench thrown into my attempted shiny new positive attitude but these things happen and on I go.  So I will try to only throw out about half of the positive things I was saying yesterday.  That’s a good compromise, right?

I may not have managed to maintain my focus for the mannequin drawing.  Yesterday’s sketch was certainly better for that.  On the other hand I was far more decisive.  It took me next to no time to pose the mannequin as opposed to the hour or so it took me to pick a photo last night.  I also did manage to maintain my motivation.  I can’t remember the last time I got a sketch done this early in the day.  So it’s not all bad.

As for all of my pseudo-resolutions… I will try to keep trying.  I will also keep failing.  No doubt about that.  There may be some very bad sketches to come.  I will keep trying for better ones but I feel like staying up super late to do them, like last night, is really a bad idea in the long run.  So I’m once again going to try to actually start doing my sketches earlier in the day.  That’s today’s new leaf.  I’m not sure how long that will last but I’m going to give it my best shot.  Whether that leads to better or worse sketches remains to be seen.  Today’s was not the best example for that.

6 thoughts on “Day 232: Keep Your Head Up, Mr. Mannequin

  1. You always manage to capture emotion as well as activity with Mr. Mannequin. He does seem a bit down, but hopefully he will remember that the cliché is true: downs are eventually followed by ups. I admire that you are both persevering! (K.)

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I couldn’t say it better myself. I really do get a big sense of down and disappointed from him, and he seems very realistically rendered to me! I do think your mannequins are always carrying a story and a certain presence. An exuberance at times! Happy Thursday to you. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

