Day 224: A Shadowy Face

A Shadowy FaceUsually I like to mix up my subjects from day to day.  If I do a face one day I try to pick an animal the next day, or a figure, or a hand, something different.  So I wasn’t intending to draw a face today.  When I saw this photo though I just couldn’t resist.  It was just another random photo that popped up on Something To Draw, submitted by Urline.  I just loved the shadows so much.  I absolutely had to give it a shot.

I’ve got to say, I’m much happier with this one than yesterday’s.  Usually I don’t do too much with shading either so this was a fun change of pace.  Shading can be a bit distracting when you’re working on your linework which is the reason I mostly avoid it.  It can make things look so much more interesting though.  I want to learn to draw without having to hide behind shading.  I do look forward to learning how to use shading effectively to make good base drawing look even better though.

8 thoughts on “Day 224: A Shadowy Face

      1. I know you said you want to concentrate on line with these ink drawings but I seriously think you shouldn’t limit yourself when this is the result 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s so sweet. I do enjoy doing these sometimes.

        I do still want to concentrate on line but I think I’ll likely slip in more like these occasionally. They’re fun to do and I enjoy the results.

        Like

Leave a Reply

