Day 196: A Strange Little Monkey

A Strange Little MonkeyToday I am back to my usual Something To Draw Sketches.  The photo I used for today’s sketch was submitted by Tambako the Jaguar.  I hadn’t done any animal sketches yet since I started on my new sketchbook so it seemed like a good time to try to tackle one.  Of course I couldn’t go making things too easy for myself.  No, that wouldn’t do.  So I had to pick this really funny looking little monkey.

To be fair, he does look much more normal and cute in the photo, which once again I didn’t really do justice to.  All the same though, he is quite strange looking.  As soon as I saw the photo I knew two things.  I knew that I really wanted to draw it and I knew that it would be a terrible terrible idea to actually attempt to draw it, particularly in pen.

As I looked at the cute little guy with all of his wrinkles, I knew beyond a shadow of doubt that no matter what I did my drawing would come out looking ugly and demented.  So I decided to draw him anyway.  I figured, why not?  If I already knew that it would come out looking bad then what did I have to lose?

I didn’t quite count on the strangeness with the eyes.  I got the angles, positions and proportions on them all wrong and then tried to fix them with very little success.  The ears turned out a bit stranger than I expected too.  The rest though I don’t think is quite as bad as I thought it might be.  It was an interesting experience drawing a monkey because of how similar their basic facial structure is to ours.  There’s one thing that I’m glad I succeeded in with this sketch.  I do think that it is recognizably some kind of a monkey and not just a demented, shriveled little man.  I admit, I was a little worried about that possibility.  In the end though, it all turned out okay.  It just looks like a strange somewhat demented monkey instead.  Chalk that up as another learning experience.

9 thoughts on “Day 196: A Strange Little Monkey

Leave a Reply

