Day 191: The Last Page in My Watercolour Sketchbook

An Up and Coming Soccer StarWell, now that everything’s said and done, here is what the last page of my watercolour sketchbook looks like.  I wanted to do something a bit better for the final page but it just didn’t work out that way.  I actually worked on this one for longer than I probably should have because I didn’t want to leave off on a bad note.  It just ended up kind of funny looking though.  I don’t really know why.  I think by the time I got to it it was just too late and I was too tired already.

I ended up not doing anything particularly special for my last watercolour sketch for a while anyway.  I just chose another random photo from Something To Draw.  I really like doing those and I feel like some of my best watercolour sketches have been based on photos from that site.  This wasn’t really one of them.  I did choose a really nice photo to work from though.  It was submitted by Peter Stanford.

It’s a lovely candid shot that really stood out to me as I was flipping through the randomly generated photos.  I think the basic linework I did on it, while not perfect, wasn’t too far off either.  Mostly I just went wrong on the colours.  I had some vague idea of what I was trying to achieve but it just didn’t quite work out the way I intended it to.  By the end I pretty much just ran out of energy.  Not exactly the best way to finish off a sketchbook.  Oh well, I’ll be starting a new one tomorrow and I’m sure I’ll get around to doing more watercolours eventually.  It’s all just an ongoing process.

2 thoughts on “Day 191: The Last Page in My Watercolour Sketchbook

  1. I just think you need to put stronger lines in the face…it’s a little washed out next to all the black and white.
    Too bad we worry so much about “firsts” and “lasts” too. Onward! And don’t give up the watercolor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advise. I think you’re definitely right about the face getting too washed out. I did an initial run on it before doing all the black and then was a bit too tired out to get back to it and fix it up properly.

      Definitely a bit too focused on firsts and lasts the last couple days. It makes things unnecessarily harder. I’m sure it won’t be my last watercolour ever though. I’m just going to focus more on my linework again for a while so that the next time I do a watercolour it will be even better because I’ll have a great foundation to build on :).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

