Day 189: Draw a Bird Day, Right?

A Kookaburra for Draw a Bird DayI think I actually got it right this time!  Draw a bird day is supposed to be on July 8th, right?  I’ve missed all of the previous ones so I wanted to try to actually get in on the action this time around.  Hopefully I got the day right.

I spent quite a bit of time deciding which bird to draw.  Originally I was thinking of doing a raven.  There was one in the painting I did for my friend.  It wasn’t very god though so I thought I might try one on a larger scale.  In the end I decided against that though.  I may do that for the next bird drawing day though if I actually manage to catch it again.  The problem with the raven was that it’s predominantly a black bird.  I only have a couple of pages left in my watercolour sketchbook so I wanted to do something with a bit more colour.

In the end I settled on a Kookaburra.  I think that was mostly just because it was one of the first bird names that came to mind.  It’s also a bit of a funny looking bird so I thought it might be fun to draw.  My proportions weren’t terribly accurate on this one but overall I think it turned out okay.  It was nice to do something a bit simpler again after all of the craziness.

I actually did also go back and fix up my painting after yesterday.  I did a lot more shading and I think it looks much better now.  It will probably never be as good as I wanted it to be but such is life.  This was one of my first paintings from the imagination so I was really struggling to make it match my mental image. It was quite the challenge and I definitely still fell short but I’m still reasonably happy with it.

I’m not going to post the actual finished painting yet.  I think I’ll wait until her birthday to post it just so that I’m not showing it to the whole world before she even gets to see it.  Sadly I didn’t quite finish it in time to get it mailed today so I’ll have to mail it tomorrow morning and hope that it somehow gets to her in time.  It will probably be late though.  To make up for it I decided to go a bit crazy decorating the envelope for her card.

Birthday Card Envelope Birthday Present

I may have gone a bit overboard on these.  I just felt really bad about the fact that they probably won’t reach her on time because of how long it took me to get the painting done.  At least between these, finishing the painting, and the bird sketch I got lots of sketching and doodling in today.

10 thoughts on “Day 189: Draw a Bird Day, Right?

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you liked it. It was fun to participate.

      Yeah, I figured if I did do the raven I probably would have done it mostly in blue with black accents. I still just wanted to do something a bit brighter though. Maybe another time…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’m glad that you liked it and that it provided you with some pertinent information. Of course I can’t guarantee how accurate of a representation of a real kookaburra it is. It does give you at least a vague idea though. They’re quite strange birds with a very distinct call.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, they are quite interesting birds. The green on the bird was very bright, almost shining. I wasn’t quite able to capture that but I wanted to find a way to still make it stand out a bit. This was about the best I could manage.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

