Day 188: Getting Serious About Finishing My Painting (… and neglecting everything else)

A Friend's BirthdaySo I feel pretty bad about today.  It feels like I cheated on this whole a sketch a day thing.  It’s just that I really needed to get this picture I’ve been working on finished so that I can mail it to my friend.  As it is it may not arrive in time for her birthday.  So today instead of trying to do a daily sketch on top of working on the picture I tried to focus on getting the painting done. 

So then here it is.  This is the picture that I’ve been working on for the last couple of days.  It probably shouldn’t have taken me as long as it has but I had a really hard time getting the faces to look … human.  I’m still not sure that it’s 100% finished.  Maybe you can let me know if there are any glaring issues with this that I should address in the morning.  I may try to do a bit of shading still anyway and fix a few other things up but it’s really late now and I didn’t get much sleep last night so I’m calling it a night.  I’m afraid this is all I have to show for today.  I’ll try to get a proper daily sketch in tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “Day 188: Getting Serious About Finishing My Painting (… and neglecting everything else)

    1. Sort of but it’s pretty random.

      It’s supposed to be me and her as Hogwarts students in the Griffindor common room. I’m handing her a birthday cake which I based on a cake that she and I made together for her birthday one year. There’s also a raven sitting on the cabinet to represent The Raven from Edgar Allan Poe’s poem which we memorized when we were kids.

      Like I said, it’s all pretty random and I’m not really sure I’m getting anything much across. We were both really into Harry Potter during the first few years of our friendship so that was why I chose that theme.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

