Day 187: A Leopard’s Spot

A Leopard's SpotI am a horrible friend.  Today turned out to be a bit of a busier day than anticipated.  When all was said and done I basically just gave up on finishing the picture I’m working on for my friend today.  I decided to just get a daily sketch done early today instead so that I would be able to get to sleep at a reasonable time tonight and then work on the other picture later.  So as a result I haven’t even touched the drawing I was supposed to be working on today yet.  I’m trying not to despair of its ever getting finished.

What I did instead was turn my attention to Something to Draw as usual when I’m just trying to do a quick sketch without having to think about it.  That was where I stumbled upon a photo submitted by Samuel Kassapian Jr. of a beautiful leopard lazing around in front of a beachy backdrop.  I couldn’t resist that one.  I love cats and he had a great expression on.  I can never resist drawing an animal with an expressive face.

Actually, truth be told I’m not 100% certain that this is in fact a leopard.  I assumed it was and then got myself all confused when I found out that jaguars look very similar to leopards.  Apologies if I’ve misnamed the animal.  It seems to be a habit of mine.  The more animals I draw the more I realize how little I actually know about the differences between similar looking animals and how to tell them apart.  Either way though, this big cat is very majestic, as all cats should be.

5 thoughts on “Day 187: A Leopard’s Spot

Leave a Reply

