Day 181: The Power of Wind

The Power of WindI’ve pretty much been avoiding landscape paintings like the plague.  I don’t know if anyone’s noticed that but it’s definitely true.  It’s not because I don’t like landscapes.  I actually love them.  They used to be pretty much all I would paint when I was younger.  For some reason I just find them intimidating now though.

It started out alright.  At first it was just a matter of focusing on the areas where I was weakest.  I never really learned how to draw people and animals properly so that was what I wanted to focus on improving.  As I worked on that though, my landscape drawing pretty much fell to the wayside.  I think I’ve been slowly improving with animals and people, even full figures to some extent.  I’ve been tending to leave out or minimize the backgrounds though because I haven’t practiced my landscape drawing at all.

Today when I was perusing Something to Draw as usual, looking for a new subject, I came across a beautiful photo of a windmill submitted by Juan Miguel.  I hesitated.  I loved the photo and immediately wanted to draw it.  That was my first response.  That however was immediately followed by a long list of reasons not to.  I don’t really know how to draw clouds.  It seems complicated.  I’m no good at drawing buildings.  It looks suspiciously like a landscape.  The windmill is white.  I don’t like painting white things.  I almost skipped the photo about five times as I argued with myself.

In the end though, I decided to just throw caution to the wind for once.  The part of me that just really wanted to take a stab at painting that windmill won out.  I’m glad it did.  I won’t pretend that this is a masterpiece.  There are definitely things that I got completely wrong and areas I need to work on.  Still, it’s not even half as bad as I was expecting it to be.  I’m glad that I didn’t let my fears of screwing it up get in the way of making the attempt.  After all, that’s the whole point of this.  I have to try things that seem too difficult if I’m going to learn.

6 thoughts on “Day 181: The Power of Wind

    1. Thanks 🙂 I may not get back to them for a while because I’ve almost finished my watercolour sketchbook. I’ll try not to neglect them completely anymore though. Maybe I can still squeeze in at least one or two.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

