Day 178: Another Horribly Inaccurate Self-Portrait

This Day in HistoryThis is what happens when I leave things until the last minute.  Tomorrow is my wedding anniversary and I wanted to draw a special sketch to mark the occasion.  Actually I originally considered doing a full canvas painting and giving it to my husband as a gift but I eventually decided that plan was a bit too overambitious.  My skill level isn’t really at a point yet where I could do it proper justice and also it wouldn’t make a very good present since we’re in very cramped living quarters right now so I’d have no way of keeping it secret from him while I was working on it. 

Maybe I’ll save that idea for another year.  I’ll do it for a special anniversary, like a 5 year, 10 year or 25 year anniversary.  Even though I downgraded my initial plan though I still wanted to do a little something to mark the occasion.  This is the result.  I ended up leaving it a bit late since I had a fairly busy day, so I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to give it the attention it deserved.  I didn’t even try to do a background for this one.

At least it will count for my June self-portrait though.  I don’t think I’ve done one this month yet.  Interestingly I think that my face is more accurate than my husband’s but he thinks the opposite.  I’m not entirely sure what to make of that other than that neither of them is a very good likeness.  Somehow it’s easier drawing strangers than it is to draw people you know well.  I’ll just have to take another shot at one of these next year and see if there’s any noticeable improvement.

6 thoughts on “Day 178: Another Horribly Inaccurate Self-Portrait

Leave a Reply

