Day 147: A Temporally Displaced Self-Portrait

A Temporally Displaced Self-PortraitI seem to recall making certain claims that I would attempt at least one self-portrait a month and we are nearing the end of May now (boy, time sure does get away on you).  I also vaguely recall saying that I would do a self-portrait from a photo.  I do not, however, recall specifying that it would be a recent photo.

So here you go!  This is my self-portrait for May.  I can’t really say that it’s any more accurate than my previous ones but I do like it a bit better.  I sketched and painted it from a photo of myself, as promised.  It may be a bit of an old photo though so whether or not this looks like the photo it certainly doesn’t look all that much like my current self.  Oh well, there’s always June.

I actually chose this photo mostly because I didn’t get much sleep last night and have been incredibly tired all day.  Whenever I tried to think of something to draw the only image that would enter my mind was me in bed sleeping.  I think my subconscious is getting less and less subtle by the day.  This was the only photo reference I could think of that fit the bill so I decided to just go with it.  All in all I don’t think it turned out too bad.  A bit less splotchy than the last couple anyway.

8 thoughts on “Day 147: A Temporally Displaced Self-Portrait

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’d love to try Asian brush painting sometime but I don’t really have any idea how it’s done. I always find them so beautiful and peaceful though. I think maybe that’s what I was subconsciously trying to mimic with this one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

