Day 145: A Splotchy Collection of Splotches (in the Shape of a Wizard)

Splotchy Wizard BoyI didn’t really feel like trying today.  I pretty much physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausted myself during the course of the day.  When the time came to do some sketching I didn’t even want to figure out what to draw.  I didn’t want to draw anything from life or try to copy anything.  I didn’t want to do anything too complicated.  Basically I just had a very long list of things that I didn’t want to do and not interest in figuring out what I did want to do.  This was the result.

Okay, if I don’t want to think and I don’t want to concentrate then I guess I’ll just put my pencil to the paper and draw the first thing that comes to mind, I figured.  The first thing that came to mind was a juvenile wizard apprentice in an over-sized robe and hat futilely waving a wand and attempting to make magic happen.  Maybe my subconscious was trying to tell me something…

Anyway, I was kind of rushing this one which is why it turned out so splotchy.  Again there was no real colour mixing on a palette, just on the brush and on the paper, and I only used my broad brush.  That probably wasn’t the best choice for this one since it has a bit more detail on it than yesterday’s hand but I was purposefully not thinking or worrying about any of that.  I also didn’t wait for anything to dry which resulted in a lot of bleeding.  That’s what happens when you’re too impatient with watercolours I guess.  So he’s a bit strange and very messy looking but it was definitely still an interesting experiment.

7 thoughts on “Day 145: A Splotchy Collection of Splotches (in the Shape of a Wizard)

    1. Thank you 🙂 I want to improve enough on the basics that I can draw things from my imagination and have them actually make sense and look right … while still being completely nonsensical of course.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

