Day 140: A Little Birdie

A Little BirdieToday was not a productive day.  It was one of those days when I have a pretty clear idea of the things I want to get done and then I decide to do a bunch of completely unrelated things instead.  Then at the end of the day I just feel like I haven’t done anything at all.  It’s not a good system.

One of the things I didn’t really get done was my sketch.  So at the end of the day I just typed ‘bird’ into the Google image search and drew the first picture that caught my eye.  This is the result.  It’s a pretty quick sketch and quite simplistic.  At least it does look like a bird though so maybe I can cross one item off my list after all.

8 thoughts on “Day 140: A Little Birdie

    1. Thank you :). The lines in the photo for this one were pretty simple. That may have been one of the things that appealed to me about it. It made the proportions much easier to capture.

      I also really liked the colours although I can’t say for sure how accurate my impression of the colours was to the actual photo because I have a nighttime colour filter on my screen.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You may not be giving yourself enough credit. The feather detail in the wing, the beak, the eye…I’d have thought you had lots of experience rendering birds! And it’s much harder to do in watercolor. Really, this is quite good, I think!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you. I did draw it out in pencil first to get the details. I almost always draw everything out in pencil. I haven’t had very much experience with birds but I do seem to be able to get them down a bit better than most other animals.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

