Day 135: A Sad Little Watercolour

A Sad Little WatercolourWell today did not go as planned.  Not at all.  Yesterday’s mannequin sketch completed another of my sketchbooks.  I had already decided in advance that once I had filled up the sketchbook I was on I would move on to my watercolour sketchbook next and attempt to do a watercolour painting every day until I filled that sketchbook.  Unfortunately today turned out not to be the best day for embarking on new ventures.  By the time the day was over however I was seriously regretting that choice and wishing I had just one more page left in my old sketchbook. 

Alas that was not the case so I sucked it up and made a quick attempt at a basic watercolour sketch.  This was the result.  It basically reflects my mood at the time of painting although I might have used darker colours if it wasn’t a watercolour.  Hopefully over the course of the next couple months as I work on filling up my watercolour sketchbook I will learn a bit more about how to work with watercolours to achieve different effects.

6 thoughts on “Day 135: A Sad Little Watercolour

  1. I’m looking forward to your watercolor work. I think this is a tremendous painting, full of emotion. If art is supposed to evoke a feeling, I think this painting is a resounding success. And hopefully, it helped you to give these feelings a place, and to vent them?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I think my watercolour work will probably be quite faulting to begin with but hopefully I improve as I go. I was definitely channeling some emotion into this one. It may have helped a bit but I think sleeping and then having a more relaxing (ie. entirely unproductive) Saturday helped more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmmm, I’m not sure. I never really thought about that. In this case I was just at the point of utter exhaustion anyway so I don’t think I had too much trouble getting sleep.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

