Day 122: Some More Stick People and Some Studies in Facial Planes

Stick People and Facial Plane StudiesToday I actually woke up wanting to draw these facial plane studies.  I’m not quite sure why.  It’s possible that I’m going insane.  I believe what happened was that I started dreaming about trying to work out the planes of the face.  The two facial plane studies are both from Andrew Loomis’ Drawing the Head and Hands.  Apparently they made a strong enough impression on me to work their way into my dreams so I decided to finally try drawing them out.  It was quite interesting though I was definitely a bit off on the proportions.

Of course I did also promise to work on my figure drawing.  That’s what the stick people are for.  Not exactly the most fleshed out figures but that’s pretty much still where I’m at right now.  Trying to draw an actual fully fleshed out figure still feels daunting.  I need a reference photo for it and then it just feels like copying.  I’ll just have to work my way up to it slowly over time.  I’ll get there eventually.

4 thoughts on “Day 122: Some More Stick People and Some Studies in Facial Planes

    1. Thanks. There’s nothing wrong with references photos if I’m trying to draw a specific person in a specific pose that I happen to have a photo of. It just doesn’t help me much with figuring out how to draw figures in different poses or how to construct scenes from my imagination.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually, there are books that show people in all kinds of different positions to use as references for things like that. I know I’ve used some in the distant past, although I can’t remember any specifics, like what was I doing? that I needed it. It’s a talent to just produce out of your imagination. I’m not very good at it, but Nina is. And children…they need almost nothing to get going.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, that’s the kind of skill that I’m working towards building … very slowly. Stick figures are where I’m starting from. That’s usually where children start too so hopefully I’m on the right track.

        Like

Leave a Reply

