Day 109: A Very Strange Looking Hand

Strange Looking HandI may need to work on my quality control here.  I know I’ve accused some of my previous hand sketches of being strange looking … but that was before I saw this one.  I think this one definitely takes the cake.  I tried to fix it.  Really, I did.  I just couldn’t get it to look right.  I suppose I’ll just have to come back to this pose another time. 

There was just something about how my fingers were arranged for this one that I couldn’t quite capture.  I think some of the proportions are probably off but mostly it’s the arrangement of the fingers and thumb that are the problem.  I think this is one of those cases where how something looks like it is and how it actually is are just two completely different things.

Oh well.  I suppose it’s still at least vaguely recognizable.  Hopefully I’ve learned a little bit from it and the next one will come out better.  I’m going to be optimistic here and not assume that my hand drawing skills are just deteriorating.

9 thoughts on “Day 109: A Very Strange Looking Hand

  1. Everyone has days like this. My post for today, perfect example. Have you ever thought about letting go of an outcome and just playing with color? I wonder if you’d enjoy something like that on “those days”. Happy Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not all that good at letting go of outcomes. I do try to sometimes but it doesn’t seem to work out. Once I run through my current sketchbook though I’m thinking of switching to my watercolour sketchbook and playing with those until that one gets filled up. Maybe that will help me loosen up a bit. I appreciate the suggestion though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Long fingers! Or maybe the back two are too small. Covering those, I think if they were larger? It actually does look odd when you put your hand that way, though, I tried it. So maybe it’s just the angle and pose of the hand.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lol, that’s one way to look at it. I’m not entirely sure my hand really had much to do with it though. At least not the one I was drawing … maybe the one I was drawing with …

      Like

Leave a Reply

