Day 94: Autumn Trees, April Showers and Missed Eclipses

Autumn TreeToday I mostly just felt like doodling.  I decided to draw a tree because I haven’t tried that in a while.  This isn’t an actual tree though, it’s just a made up one.  I really should practice drawing some actual trees from life.  I struggle with trees a lot because I’m never quite sure how detailed to go with them.  They’re so complicated seeming.  Anyway my sketch looked pretty sad an boring in pencil so I decided to colour it.  Trees really need to look alive.  That doesn’t really explain why I chose autumn colours though.  I’m really not quite sure where those came from.

I coloured this one using oil pastels.  I haven’t really done much with these before and don’t entirely understand how to use them.  It kind of just looks like I drew it in crayon which makes me feel like I may have been doing something wrong.  I drew the tree in my regular old sketchbook so watercolour was out of the question and even marker would have stained through the paper so my options were pretty limited.  This seemed like the best one at the time.  I may have to experiment with it some more though to figure out how to use it properly.

It’s been raining here pretty much non stop ever since April started.  There are brief intervals where it doesn’t rain but you can pretty much guarantee that it will start up within another hour or two.  I think this may be taking April showers a little bit too seriously.  I’m not quite that desperate for May flowers.  It was particularly annoying today because I was hoping to catch a glimpse of the lunar eclipse.  Unfortunately all I could see were clouds all evening and it was raining most of the time.  I suppose I’ll just have to wait for the next one.

7 thoughts on “Day 94: Autumn Trees, April Showers and Missed Eclipses

    1. I like trees too. I just developed some very strange habits for drawing them that I’m trying to shake. It’s harder to do when I’m drawing them from the imagination which is why I’d like to try some life drawings of them at some point.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love anything that resembles crayons, including crayon-like pencils, for instance, china markers. So that look is a plus as far as I’m concerned. And it’s a good tree, very tree-like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you :). China markers are quite handy though I’ve never tried drawing with them.

      Some day I’ll have to really embrace the crayon-ness and just draw a picture or do some doodling entirely with crayons. I’m not sure I can produce any beautiful pieces of art with them like I’ve seen some people do. There’s still a fun child-like aspect to just messing around with them though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

