Day 82: Computer Issues

CapricaI have been having some computer problems lately that have been leaving me feeling quite frustrated and uninspired.  This is a drawing of the specific computer in question, so I suppose it qualifies as a life drawing.  It’s strange, I’d never actually considered drawing my computer before.

I was just feeling very unenthusiastic and casting about woefully for something to draw.  While I was trying to figure out a good subject my mind drifted back to my computer problems and how aggravating they are.  Then suddenly the two thought paths coincided for a split second.  Well, I suppose I could draw that, I thought.  I scoffed at the idea and looked at the computer sceptically.  Now that I think of it, it is actually an object isn’t it? I thought, and I haven’t done a life drawing in quite a while so I suppose it would work. Suddenly a sad sense of nostalgia kicked in and I decided that the computer was in fact the only thing that I could draw with any sort of focus in my present mindset.

So here we are.  It’s probably not the best life drawing I’ve ever done but it does look like a computer.

Meet Caprica.  She (yes, I decided that it’s a female computer) is eight years old and she appears to be dying.  The way I figure it 8 human years is equivalent to about 80 computer years.  In fact I’ve never had a computer last this long before.  So I suppose she must have lived a relatively full life by those standards.  That really doesn’t make it any less frustrating for me though.

I bought her in 2007 when I had just finished my first year of university.  It was labour day actually so my second year was about to begin.  I hadn’t even met my husband yet at the time.  It was my first time ever buying a computer for myself (although she wasn’t the first computer I ever owned).  I had saved up and there was a sale on so I decided that it was the perfect time to take the plunge.

I had to get a friend to drive me to the Apple Store which was in another city.  We ended up going there on the ay back from dropping another friend off at the nearby airport.  When I finally got to the Apple store I found out that my bank card had a limit on the amount of money I could spend on one purchase.  Naturally I couldn’t resolve this by talking to a teller since all the banks were closed with it being labour day.  I almost gave up hope then but my gracious friend offered to pay for it on his credit card and then let me pay him back once I could get the money out of the bank.

So that was it.  I finally had a mac after years of hoping and waiting and saving.  I had been watching a lot of Battlestar Galactica at the time with my friends so I named her Caprica.  It seemed like a good name for a mac.  We were going to do great things together.  I was going to make movies and she was going to help me do it.

I’m not sure how eight years managed to pass by between then and now.  I don’t know how she got so old.  It makes me feel much older too.  I still have all of these dreams, all of these things that I want to do.  Now I will just have to find a way to do them without her.  She was a good computer though and she performed better than I ever even imagined.

So long Caprica, you will be missed.

3 thoughts on “Day 82: Computer Issues

  1. You’ve definitely caught the lack of life.
    I was sad when my first computer (which I bought used from a friend) died too…more sad because I hadn’t backed up a lot of files. Now I back up and remain unattached.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Backing up often is definitely a good idea. I was luckily still able to do that,

      I just seem to have a bit of a tendency of becoming overly attached to inanimate objects. Maybe if I would stop naming them all …

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

