Day 79: Back to The Basics

Good Old FacesI decided that I needed a bit of a break after the intensive effort I put into preparing for and then completing the painting from my last post.  I also got hardly any sleep last night due to how late I stayed up finishing it which left me feeling really tired and worn out.  So today I decided to take it easy and just draw some random faces again.  Can you believe it’s been over a month since I last did these?  I think it shows.  I’m definitely a bit out of practice.

I’m really glad I decided to do these today though.  I had actually forgotten how fun and relaxing I find it.  It was a really great change from the concentrated effort and fear of screwing up of the last week or so.  Sometimes the best thing is just to draw for the sake of drawing and have fun with it without worrying about how bad it looks.  It’s also good for learning.  I know I’ve mentioned it before but these are my favourite things to do.  I love trying to come up with different expressions and tilts and and trying to figure out how you express different emotions.  I find it so engaging.

Since I wasn’t really bothering with producing anything clean or nice looking I left most of my construction lines on these.  They’re not really perfect because as I said I’m a bit out of practice.  I was having to make a few adjustments as I went but they still provide a decent starting point.  I think I’m going to play with this a bit more over the next little while.  I want to work on my facial constructions a bit more anyway.

I also did a couple more of my random practice exercises while watching (or at least listening to) some TV.  It was a nice way to get in some practice while winding down and having a relaxing evening.

March 20 - 3D Shapes Exercise March 20 - Straight Line Exercise 2a March 20 - Straight Line Exercise 2b March 20 - Parallel Line Exercise 2a March 20 - Parallel Line Exercise 2b March 20 - Thick Lines Exercise

5 thoughts on “Day 79: Back to The Basics

      1. I had a discussion with a friend yesterday about artistic skill. We decided that skill is one thing, good art another. There’s plenty of good art that is not the most skillful, and plenty of skillful art that is not that good. You’re doing great.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

