Day 75 cont’d: Full Portrait Study

Young Mother Study - Shaded I got the first of my three full facial studies done tonight.  The rest will have to wait until tomorrow.  I’m still not entirely happy with the likeness and I feel like the shading might be a bit off.  Still, I think I’m definitely getting much closer now.  Hopefully by the time I get to the full painting I’ll have these faces down. 

I think I’m pretty much just drilling them until I get them right at this point.  Practice makes perfect, right?  Let’s hope so anyway.  The promising thing is that I don’t seem to be getting any worse.  Each attempt gets me a little bit closer to a actual likeness.  As long as I keep moving in that direction it’ll all work out.

Here’s the full line drawing that I started with to create this shaded portrait, in case anyone is interested in the process.  I always take a picture of the line drawing before I shade it.  Still paranoid that I’ll screw it up completely.

Young Mother Study - Line Drawing

6 thoughts on “Day 75 cont’d: Full Portrait Study

    1. Thank you. I think this one actually did turn out quite well. Not terribly accurate but still not bad looking at least.

      I like taking the pictures of the line art because even if I don’t screw it up I still get to compare them after I’m done :).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s great that you’re improving with each sketch. I don’t seem to have that experience…at least I haven’t recently. Different? Yes. Better?…not so much. Maybe tomorrow I’ll post about it.
    Obviously I don’t know this woman, but I like her smile!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The smile was the main thing I was focusing on. I was trying really hard to get it right because I think she has such a nice smile. This is also the most important face for me to get right because she’s actually the person I’m doing the painting for. I wouldn’t want to offend her by making her look horrible :S.

      I’m really glad that I seem to be improving so far. Hopefully I can continue that trend. Maybe you’re just at a road block right now and need to try something different or a different approach to the same thing. Either way eventually you’ll break through and suddenly jump ahead to a new level :).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

