Day 73: Just Some Doodles and Rough Studies

Study of a HousewifeI’m in that awkward stage again where I’ve decided that I want to try to do a proper painting as a gift for someone.  I always seem to leave these things until the last minute though.  So today I finally decided to start prepping for the painting.  I was mostly just doing studies of one of the people in the painting I want to do.  I really want to get it right since it’s a gift and I don’t want to accidentally insult anyone with it.  I’m honestly not even sure if I can actually pull it off but I’m giving it a shot anyway, sort of.   Facial Structure Studies

Study of a SmileSo I’m afraid I don’t have anything glamorous to offer today.  Just a bunch of rough studies of the same face.  I’m trying to get it right but having a lot of difficulty.  I might be over-thinking it a bit.  The next few days probably won’t feature anything too exciting as I will be continuing to work on this.  I’ll probably just be posting more roughs and sketches mostly although I’ll make sure to still get a hand in there for tomorrow.

The other thing I did while watching some TV was a couple more of those practice exercises I used to do all the time.  It’s been quite a while since I posted any of those.  They’re actually pretty fun to do but I tend to spend far more time on them than I really should.March 14 - Ellipse ExerciseMarch 14 - Minor Axis Ellipses Exercise

March 14 - 3D Shapes ExerciseI actually had a pretty fun Saturday though despite my lack of meaningful artistic pursuits.  My husband and I had fun cooking together and had a nice meal of shepherd’s pie followed by apple pie to celebrate Pi Day.  I had a bit of trouble with the crust because it had to be gluten free but it mostly worked   out okay in the end.  Apple Pie

In case you don’t know, March 14th is Pi Day because it’s 3.14.  Geeky, I know but that’s how I roll.  Although I’m pretty much game for any excuse to eat pie really.  We tend to have fun celebrating Pi Day when we remember.

Happy Pi Day everyone!  Go eat some pie and do some math :).

4 thoughts on “Day 73: Just Some Doodles and Rough Studies

Leave a Reply

