Day 70: Another Silly Watercolour Sketch

The Lorikeets Take FlightI’ve been having a lot fun playing around with watercolours for the last couple of days.  Today’s sketch may have been a little bit overambitious on my part though.  I probably would have been able to do a better job is I had simplified it a little more.  It also wouldn’t have taken me nearly as long which means I might have actually gotten some sleep.  Oh well, live and learn.

This was based on a photo that I took a few days ago.  I really like the poses that I caught the three lorikeets in and it seemed like it would make a nice painting.  I’m not entirely happy with how it turned out but it was interesting to do.

I think this will probably be my last watercolour sketch for a while though.  I really want to be focusing on my drawing skills and I think the painting is starting to distract me from that a bit.  It’s fun to do but also very time consuming.  I may still do the occasional watercolour on a weekend but I think I’ll stick to pencil drawings on weekdays for now.  I would like to fill the regular sketchbook that I’ve been using.  Once I’ve filled that one with daily pencil sketches I may switch to the watercolour sketchbook next and fill that one up.

Working on both sketchbooks at the same time is just a little overwhelming.  That’s what I’ve been doing since I don’t like the idea of not having a daily sketch in my main sketchbook.  Today’s regular pencil sketch was another attempt at drawing a figure.  Again it’s not particularly good.  This is definitely an area that I’m struggling with.

Another Sad Looking Figure AttemptIt also ended up with a terrible looking face because I was focusing on getting the figure right.  I’m not sure why working on the figure makes it impossible for me to draw good faces but that seems to be what happens.  It may just be because the face has to be much smaller than I’m used to drawing them to accommodate the figure.  I’m going to try to work out a reasonable way of practicing my figure drawing and maybe set aside a specific day for it.  I definitely need the practice but I think I’ll just get frustrated trying to draw a figure every day, which is what I’ve been doing for the last few days.

5 thoughts on “Day 70: Another Silly Watercolour Sketch

  1. I really love your watercolor work. I like your idea to practice the figure only at certain times, since it’s not thrilling you all that much at the moment. Maybe giving it a short break and working on other things will give you a fresh perspective too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed working with watercolour.

      I agree that taking a little break from figures will hopefully give me a new perspective. It’s better than just beating my head against a wall anyway.

      One day a week seems like a good way to stay on top of it without just getting frustrated. I think I’ve already met my quota for this week though so I’ll just pick a day for next week.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Faces and figures are definitely quite different and I need much more practice with both.

      My problem is when I combine the two I somehow do worse with both than I do with either separately. Just something I need to work on. I’m still really just trying to find my legs where figures are concerned though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

