Day 64: The Fridge Saga Continues

A Beach LandscapeI somehow had imagined a short break before I would have to post part 2 of the appliance store saga.  I thought maybe I’d be able to go back to my regular routing for at least a day or two before it came up again.  Alas, it was not to be.  All dramatics aside though, today was actually a much more fun version of the fridge shopping.  My parents found an appliance store in a nice beach town about an hour’s drive up the coast that had the fridge that we had expressed an interest in in stock.  So they spontaneously decided that we should all drive down there and take a look at it and take in the beach while we were at it.  I really wish that all appliance shopping could be done that way.

So the upshot is this.  We actually managed to get a fridge today!  Yay, no need for and appliance store saga part 3! (*fingers crossed* Please don’t break, please don’t break, please don’t break.)  Also, as an added bonus we got to spend the afternoon at the beach.  Seriously, this is the ideal way to shop for appliances.  I have been completely spoiled for all future appliance purchases.

I again brought my sketchbook with me but instead of sketching impressions of the car ride I sketched some impressions of the beach.  Again, I had pretty much zero time to sketch in a more structured way at home as I had originally intended.  On a positive note, these sketches may be a little more interesting than the car journey impressions.  The downside is that I was a lot more interested in splashing around in the water and enjoying the sand than I was in sketching so I didn’t entirely put as much effort into them.

Some Impressions of the Beach Life

I need a lot more practice with landscape sketching, figure drawing and animal drawing.  I don’t think I’ve really improved at all in those areas (possibly because I mostly avoid them like the plague since I’m so bad at them).   The bottom right is supposed to be a possum.  It was sitting in the tree that I sketched in bottom left but as the tree was a fair distance away I couldn’t actually see the possum other than a vague shape so I mostly made up the details with a google image search for reference.

Now that the fridge has been purchased business as usual should be resuming, if there is such a thing.  I’m not sure I’ll have that much more time for sketching tomorrow though since the last two days have been pretty much a bust so I have a lot of things to catch up on.  I also still need to come up with some sort of structure for my sketching and art learning.  A bit more of a structure for the rest of my life wouldn’t hurt either.  So much to do, so little time.

Leave a Reply

