Day 62: A Portrait Attempt

Can you guess who this is?Today I decided to take a shot at this whole celebrity portrait thing.  So this one sadly is not a life drawing.  I drew this from a photo I found on google image search.  He’s a character in a TV series that’s quite popular these days.  I chose him because I wanted someone with very distinctive features to give me a reasonable margin for error.  So let’s see if anyone can guess who he is.  What do you think?  Is he recognizable to anyone?

I didn’t do much shading on this one.  Again I was more focused on my lines.  I wanted to see if I could capture a distinct person with as few lines as possible.  I figure if I can get recognizable faces with just the main lines then I’ll have a really solid base to build on when I do start shading and colouring.  When I know I’m shading something I tend to let it go when the lines don’t really look right and just try to hide it under the shading.  Sometimes that works out and I manage to actually fix it with the right shading.  Usually though it just ends up looking really off and it’s harder to pinpoint what’s wrong with it once it’s all shaded.

I think I’ll take the plunge sometime soon and do a properly shaded portrait.  I think my lines really have gotten better since I started really focusing on that.  It would be interesting to test it out and see how my shaded portraits now would compare to the ones I was doing before.  I still have a lot more work to do on my lines though to get them looking solid and confident.  I suppose that will really only come with practice.

7 thoughts on “Day 62: A Portrait Attempt

  1. I like your drawing, and I was thinking “I bet I don’t watch that show” because I pretty much don’t watch tv and sure enough! I bed if have guessed it if I knew the character. I’m so glad you’re drawing portraits!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I took your advise and drew someone with distinctive features and he got guessed within about 5 minutes of me posting it. It must have been a good way to go.

      It was pretty fun drawing him too so I think I’ll mix in some portraits occasionally. Maybe the next one will be someone you know :).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

