Day 59: A Seashell Sketch and Some Feelings of Inadequacy

A ConchToday’s sketch is of a conch that my parents have on their bookshelf.  Apparently it was inherited from my step-father’s parents.  Again I was mostly just trying to get the basic lines that make up the shape.  This one had a much more interesting shape than most of the objects I’ve been drawing lately.  I’m not sure it’s the most accurate representation but I think the proportions worked out pretty well and it’s not too far off.  I also may not have chosen the mot interesting angle for this sketch.  There were just so many interesting angles to choose from. I might sketch it again from a different angle on another day.

I was doing this sketch while we were talking to my brother on Skype.  When my mum mentioned what I was doing I ended up showing my sketch to my brother over Skype.  That resulted in my brother and I showing each other various pictures from our sketchbooks through the crappy cell phone cameras.  There were so many beautiful, detailed sketches in my brother’s sketchbook.  It made me feel completely inadequate.  I know I can’t expect to become an amazing artist overnight.  Still, some days it can be hard to shake the feeling that I’m not really making any progress at all.

It can feel a little overwhelming knowing where it is you want to get to but having no idea how to get there.  The important thing is just to break it down and take things one step at a time, moving forward towards that goal in your own way and at your own pace.  That’s what I keep telling myself anyway.  If I try to rush myself or constantly change what I’m doing because it doesn’t feel like it’s working, or at least not working fast enough, I’ll just slow myself down in the long run.

So I guess I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing and hope that someday my sketchbook looks as good as my brother’s and all of the other awesome sketchbooks out there that I’m totally jealous of.  The important thing is to turn that envy into motivation rather than just letting myself be crippled by feelings of inadequacy.  If I give myself time to learn and lots of opportunities to practice then I’ll get there eventually, even if it’s not as quick or easy as I might wish it could be.  Nothing worth doing can ever be done in the blink of an eye.

8 thoughts on “Day 59: A Seashell Sketch and Some Feelings of Inadequacy

  1. Keep going. We all start from the bottom. My brother and sister are both amazing artists and for years I compared myself to them. Well, they’ve got lots more miles on their pencils and paintbrushes than me. So, I keep picking it up. Get those miles down. Good job!

    Like

    1. Thank you. That’s what I’m aiming for. I need lots more pencil mileage before I can make things look on paper the way they do in my head.

      Sometimes it’s tempting to think that there’s some magic ingredient or special approach that we’re missing. In the end though I think it just mostly comes down to practice practice practice. I just need to figure out what works best for me and above all just keep at it even when it doesn’t feel like it’s working. So that’s what I intend to do :).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You´re very right! And behind every perfect picture of someone else are years of learning and never giving up. They all were at the point where you are now. I saw directly that this is a seashell, and I think it´s really cool!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. I appreciate the support.

      I know that nothing was ever as easy as it looks from an outside perspective. I also know that everyone, no matter what stage they’re at, sometimes feels like they’ll never be as good as they want to be.

      I think it’s good to be humbled once in a while as long as you don’t let the experience bring you down. It can be really motivating if you look at it the right way. I just need to stay on target and resist the temptation to copy other peoples’ learning processes thinking that they must be inherently better than my own just because they’re at a more advanced stage than I am.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

