Day 51: A Little Wet but Still Alive

ISword Stand am still alive and my house has not been washed or blown away.  Yay!  I’m not sure that the cyclone has actually hit us yet although we’ve been feeling its effects for the last two days.  It’s been downgraded to a category one now though and it has finally stopped raining, at least for now, so I don’t think my death is really imminent.  Of course that means I need to get more sketches posted!

I drew our wooden sword stand with the wooden words on it.  Yes, we have a wooden sword stand.  I’d like to have real swords but they’re too expensive so I settled for this.  This is a pretty basic sketch of it.  Again, I was focusing on the proportions more than anything else.  I think the proportions aren’t too bad but they’re not exactly great either.  This on was a bit more complicated than the last couple drawings I did.  Looks like I’m getting there very slowly but I still need a lot more practice.  I might try doing a lot of really simple things next instead of one complicated thing.  That might work out a bit better.  Probably a little bit of both is best though and I do like trying to get in at least one actual sketch a day. 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetMy husband’s suggestion for what I should sketch today involved talk of floods and pools of water and rivers.  He’s a bit fascinated by all of the flooding.  By the time he suggested this though it was already dark and I was a bit daunted by the prospect of trying to do a proper landscape.  Ever the obliging wife though I decided to do a silly little cell phone sketch just for him.  It’s quite bad because again it was done with my finger on a tiny cell phone screen and this time I didn’t spend nearly as long on it as I did on the last one.  Still, I’m going to post it.  Gotta take the bad with the good I guess and someday I’ll be able to look back at this and see how far I’ve come.

I was also geeking out today over the photo sequences of Eadweard Muybridge.  I encourage you guys to check them out here.  They’re really cool and inspiring, at least I think so.  I really need to work on my figures some more.  I love being able to see complete breakdowns of all the motions though and how all of the muscles in the body move.  I’m also really interested in animation so I was geeking out over things like delayed actions on various body parts and what the contacts and passing positions looked like.  Anyway. I don’t know if you guys will be as fascinated by all this as I was but I think it’s still worth taking a look at just for the sake of interest.

One thought on “Day 51: A Little Wet but Still Alive

Leave a Reply

