Day 50: The Big 5-0, Wow! Still a long way to go but I’m making progress.

5Kettle0 days may not be an actual milestone but it feels like one to me.  I suppose it’s a little under 1/7th of the way really which isn’t very much.  Still, it’s 50 days of drawing every day.  I think this is officially a habit now.  Habits are supposed to take about a month of daily practice to form I think.  So that means I’m over the hump.  I’m still going to try to do better by getting my sketches done a bit earlier in the day though.  Setting up a proper routine probably involves doing them at a time where I’m not staying up into the early hours of the morning just to get it done.  So after yesterday’s fiasco I decided to draw today’s real life object during lunch time.

It’s a kettle.  I didn’t really account for the handle when I was measuring out my proportions so it went a bit off the page.  On the plus side, I was actually measuring out proportions to some extent (visually with my pencil, not all scientifically with rulers and things).  I think it’s still a little bit off but it’s not too inaccurate.  I must be starting to get the hang of this visual measurement thing.  It’s not as bad as the bottle was anyway.  I’ll have to try applying it to more complicated objects at some point.  I don’t want to do anything too complicated yet though.  I want to make sure I have the basics down before I start getting overwhelmed by extensive details.

I may also do a few more practice exercises today as well.  If I do I will post them here later.  I just wanted to make sure I got this posted so that there won’t be anything standing between me and getting to bed at a reasonable time tonight.

There’s also a pretty crazy storm raging tonight.  Apparently it’s a category 4 cyclone and it hasn’t even touched down yet.  It’s not actually supposed to hit us but we’re close enough that we might be affected.  So if I don’t post anything tomorrow, it’s not because I gave up!  I’m in this for the long haul.  It probably just means I drowned or my computer got waterlogged or the house blew over or something.  No worries.

Update: Still not dead yet.  Also still raining pretty hardcore outside.  I’m excited to see the water level tomorrow morning.  I did some more speed gestures a few hours ago that I’m finally getting around to posting now before going and sleeping.  Still not seeing any real progress on these but I’m going to keep doing them because they’re fun and I want to see where it takes me.

February 19 - Speed Gestures 4a February 19 - Speed Gestures 4b

8 thoughts on “Day 50: The Big 5-0, Wow! Still a long way to go but I’m making progress.

      1. It’s the movement of the boiling water that triggers it to turn off – apperently.. So when there isn’t enough water, it will just boil away without it turning off, and then the metal will melt (!) – and water will come in contact with the electrical wireing.. Bang.. I’m glad that noone was is the kitchen when that happened.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Interesting. That actually makes a lot of sense now that you mention it. Learn something new every day I guess. I’m glad I never had to learn this one from personal experience. I hope the explosion wasn’t too bad.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

