Day 41: Getting some perspective

A Stroll through a Sea of Cubes It seems that sleep is one of those things that I’m going to be doing without for the next little while.  Today’s sketch is very rough because once again I didn’t get started on it until it was already quite late.  It’s a really basic practice sketch for a piece I thought of a while back.  I’m not sure if I’ll actually get around to doing this piece or not because it’s sort of time sensitive and I’ve left it quite late.  I seem to be leaving a lot of things quite late these days.  It’s a bad habit that I need to get out of.  Still, I figured I may as well make an effort to get started and see how far I get.  Better than just giving up anyway.  I also did a quick super basic composition sketch on my phone.

Stroll - Basic Comp SketchThe figures are too big in this one but it gives a basic idea anyway.  The app that I was using for drawing was very frustrating.  I had a version where the figures were a better size but I’d drawn them on the first layer and it wouldn’t let me reorder the layers.  By that point I had already tried different versions about 5 or 6 times so I just decided to go with this one even though I’m not really happy with it.  Still, between this and the other versions that didn’t save I think I got a basic idea of it anyway.  It’s not really supposed to be perfect.

The cubes are not actually part of the piece either, although I do think they make it more interesting.  “Oh no! Watch out, you’re about to trip over a randomly placed cube!”  Perhaps not.  I was just in the mood to draw a bunch of cubes because I was doing some perspective exercises today.  Below are two of the practice exercises for perspective from the ctrl+paint website.  You should check it out if you’r interested.  There are some great resources available for free.  I don’t have any money right now so I can’t get any of the paid content but just the free stuff is enough to get me going.  Hopefully I can learn some interesting new things and improve my drawing.  That’s the whole point of this anyway.

The first exercise was to draw rectangles on a perspective grid using a crayon.  That was quite fun and surprisingly challenging.  Maybe it shouldn’t be surprising though since I am absolutely terrible at perspective.  I’m determined to improve though.

February 10, 2015 - Rectangles in PerspectiveThe second exercise was to draw the horizon line for each of the rectangular boxes provided.  On this one I pulled a pretty classic me and decided that I wanted to try the exercise before listening to the lesson and the instructions.  It’s like I think I’ll get a gold star or something if I can get it right before being told what to do.  I think my priorities are a bit wrong there.  So the free hand lines are my initial attempt at the exercise.  I drew them just by eyeballing and put the horizon where I would expect it to be.  After that I watched the video and found out how to actually determine where the horizon should be (which I should have been able to figure out if I really thought about it instead of just rushing to do it).  The ruler lines are the proper attempt to do the exercise after listening to the instructions.

February 10, 2015 - Horizon DrillIt actually ended up being a pretty interesting exercise due mostly to my convoluted way of approaching it.  It was neat to see how close my guesses from eyeballing were to the actual mathematical horizon line.  All in all I didn’t do too badly on my guesses although one of them was way off.  Still, I think with a bunch more practice I may eventually be able to get this perspective thing down.  Then it will just be a matter of actually applying it … and learning all of the other skills.  I’ll get there eventually.  The first step is to get into  good routine with some drills to help me learn and practice on a regular basis.  That’s what I’m working on now and the rest is just consistency.  No one said this was going to be easy but I think it is doable.

One thought on “Day 41: Getting some perspective

Leave a Reply

