Day 35: A bad life sketch and a virus infested computer

IWorking Away‘m continuing this new routine of posting earlier in the day in an attempt to avoid staying up late at night.  I’m still not quite sure if the results are positive or not.  So far I am getting more sleep but at the expense of getting pretty much anything else done ever.  It didn’t help that my computer picked up a bunch of viruses and is now spending hours and hours doing a full scan to fix itself.  I hope it comes out of this okay.  Still, between eating, sleeping, exercising and posting a sketch my entire day seems to just zoom by.  Hopefully once I get more used to the routine things will become a bit more efficient.  Staying up late every night just to get things done that I didn’t get done during the day certainly doesn’t seem much more sustainable anyway.  Just like my drawing I think it’s something I just need to stick with until it gets better.

Speaking of drawings getting better … I really hope that starts happening at some point.  I decided to try some life drawing again today.  Well, actually my husband decided for me.  I’ve been wanting to do more life drawing for practice but didn’t really feel like drawing random objects and felt awkward about asking people to pose for me.  Luckily today my husband decided to volunteer, although with the pose he chose I probably could have just drawn him without him noticing.  I wasn’t sure what to draw and he said “You can draw me!” and then set himself up at his computer with his headphones on.  Not really the best pose for capturing facial detail or full figure anatomy but I gave it a shot anyway.  I don’t really like the way his face and head looks but I think I did alright with the legs and the hands are not too bad.  I still definitely need more perspective practice though.  All of my background is off and the table and laptop are off in relation to everything else.  As always, I’ll just have to keep working at it and eventually I’ll get it right.  That’s the theory anyway.

3 thoughts on “Day 35: A bad life sketch and a virus infested computer

  1. I think you’re being too hard on yourself – this is good. You have an entire scene here with depth and good composition. The figure has good proportions and I really like his fingers – they look to be dancing over the keyboard.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I appreciate the support. I did think the hands turned out alright on this one. My main problem with it was just the perspective. The viewing angle on the table looks different from the figure and the rest of the scene. I still need to get a handle on perspective, maybe try plotting a couple scenes out on grids until I get the hang of it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

