Day 29: Tales of a zombie artist and her horrifying offspring

If at first you don't succeed...
If at first you don’t succeed…

I think I may have managed about 9 hours of sleep in the past two days combined.  This while my body is still trying to heal from a shingles infection.  I swear I was saying just a few posts ago how I really needed to get more sleep.  Gee I wish I’d take my own advice sometimes.  I feel like a total zombie right now.  On the plus side … ummm, I’m still standing, sort of.  I am aiming for an early night tonight, hoping I actually fall asleep and double hoping that I don’t wake up in the early hours of the morning with my mind racing unable to get back to sleep.  That last one is really important.  So if I don’t make much sense today … it’s only because I may actually be asleep right now.

I wanted to try to draw a little girl today.  This is vaguely related to one of the thoughts I had first thing in the morning that wouldn’t let me go back to sleep but I don’t really remember how that train of thought went.  The problem with this is that I am really really bad at drawing small children.  I mean really bad.  The amount of time I spent on today’s sketch is pathetic really, I just couldn’t get it right.  I was also so tired that I almost gave up and posted something horrific… twice.

Ah heck, I’ll post them anyway.  After all, no one really reads this internet thing, right?  I’ll show you a couple of the terrible iterations of today’s sketch that I almost posted, just in case you don’t believe me about how bad it was:

Terrifying Child
Oh, the horror!

I know, it’s hauntingly bad.  Don’t say I didn’t warn ya.  I had already done about three drafts on the head at this point and I just couldn’t get it right.  I could tell that it looked bad but couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it.  Every time I tried to fix it it just came out looking the same or at least just as bad as before.  This is what happens when I’m sleep deprived.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  Given how utterly exhausted I was I decided to just give up and post a terrible looking sketch (wouldn’t be my first) just so I could go to sleep.  I was actually just starting on the post when I happened to glance over at a book on my desk (Hayao Miyazaki’s Starting Point) and saw Kiki’s face (from Kiki’s Delivery Service) staring back up at me.  So I stared at the structure of her face for a minute and finally figured out why mine looked so bad.  I had the whole structure of the head wrong!  You’d think after drawing that infant skull I’d have a better idea of a child’s skull structure but apparently not.  So I erased the head and large parts of the body and tried to redo it.

Oh! That's how you draw a head!Her arms and shoulders still looked off to me in the next iteration but it seemed otherwise improved so again I thought I may as well give up and go to bed.  Then I realized her shoulder was sort of merging into her belly in an unnatural looking way.  I had been trying to figure out where to put the shoulder before but had mostly given up after not being able to figure it out.  I drew in a belly line and made some adjustments to the shoulder/right arm though and I think it turned out much better in the final version.  Still some definite issues but I think I had a couple breakthroughs here.  This is basically just to give you an idea of how much I struggle with basic anatomy/perspective issues.  This is what I go through when trying to figure out where to put things.  For some reason the structure of the human body just baffles me when I try to draw it.  Hopefully I’m getting better though.  Just need to keep working on it.  For now though, sleep … I hope.

Leave a Reply

