Day 11: January 11th, 2015

Just another hand, nothing to get excited about
Hand, The Second

So I’ve decided that Sundays will be my day for drawing hands.  I figure sketching a hand once a week is a good compromise for allowing me to get good practice on them without boring myself to death and damaging my sense of self-worth.  There’s no particularly good reason for choosing Sunday as my hand sketching day.  Mostly it’s because I happened to post a sketch of a hand last Sunday and I’m a little bit obsessed with maintaining perceived patterns (even if there isn’t an actual pattern there.  If you want any further insight into why I decided that it was important to sketch hands regularly you can refer back to last Sunday’s post.

I’m not convinced that this sketch lives up to my quality standards but unfortunately it was the best I could manage today.  I’ve had a killer migraine pretty much all day along with a minor fever, a general sense of nausea (quite possibly just brought on by the migraine) and an annoying rash on my forehead (which has actually been there since Tuesday I think but only yesterday began spreading and itching in places).  Actually I probably shouldn’t have posted anything at all today but like I said, I have a bit of an obsession with maintaining patterns.  I actually did the sketch much earlier today but kept putting off posting it due to bright computer screens not agreeing well with my migraine.  Somehow though, I got it into my head that if I could succeed at posting this today, when I feel like I’ve been run over by a dump truck, then I would be able to succeed at this challenge and post a sketch every single day this year.  I’m not sure that it actually works that way but some corner of my brain was completely convinced and wouldn’t let me rest properly until I posted it.  Here’s hoping you’re right crazy corner of my brain!

Leave a Reply

