Day 4: January 4th, 2015

The hand that grips the sketchbook
Practice with hands

Looks like I haven’t come up with interesting titles for my posts yet.  I’ll get to that eventually I’m sure.  If I procrastinate long enough though at least the dates won’t match the day counts anymore so it won’t be quite as redundant.

I have been slowly (very very slowly) making my way through Andrew Loomis’s Figure Drawing for All It’s Worth in an attempt to improve my skills at drawing people.  I won’t subject anyone to the Sketchbook I’ve dedicated specifically to exercises from that, it’s quite horrific.  I read through most of the book without trying all of the exercises though and one of the suggestions he makes is to draw at least one hand every day … which clearly I have not been doing.

I have a long way to go in making full use of Andrew Loomis’s lessons.  I still can’t draw a full bodied person to save my life, I only have a very rudimentary grasp on how perspective affects human figures and I just can’t seem to figure out how to structure a human face … Nonetheless, I decided that in the spirit of taking things one day at a time I would try to draw a hand today.  I doubt that I’ll actually start drawing one of these every day.  I think just doing one sketch a day is a good start and if I limit myself to just one subject for those sketches it will get very boring very fast.  Maybe I can toss one in every now and then though and try to make some improvements.

Leave a Reply

